Enhanced Services

What is an Enhanced Service?

The new GMS Contract was introduced in April 2004. As part of the new Contract, GP Practices can opt to provide services over and above the essential/additional services normally provided to patients. These services are known as Enhanced Services and are delivered to a higher specified standard. By providing these services GPs help reduce the burden on secondary care (e.g. Hospitals) and expand the range of services to meet local need and improve convenience and choice for patients.

There are three types of enhanced service:

Directed Enhanced Service (DES) – Primary Care Trusts must ensure that this service is provided for the population, e.g. child immunisation programme.

National Enhanced Service (NES) – Services commissioned to meet patient needs with national specifications, e.g. specialised services for multiple sclerosis.

Local Enhanced Service (LES) – Locally developed services designed to meet local health needs.

Enhanced Services Provided by the Practice

Directed Enhanced Services

  • Alcohol
  • Child Immunisations
  • E-Booking
  • Ethnicity
  • Influenza and Pneumococcal Immunisation
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Minor Surgery (e.g. joint injections)
  • Osteoporosis
  • Practice Based Commissioning

National Enhanced Services

  • Anti-Coagulation Monitoring
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Near Patient (or point of care) Testing (Screening for patients taking high risk prescribed medication)

Local Enhanced Services

  • BP – 24 hours ambulatory
  • Care Home (Nursing)
  • Chlamydia
  • Chronic Leg Ischemia (PVD)
  • Counselling
  • Diabetes
  • ECG – 24 hour + 48 hours + 7 day
  • Epilepsy
  • End of Life
  • Extended Hours
  • HPV vaccine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • OGTT Testing (Oral Glucose Tolerance Testing)
  • Palliative Care
  • Phlebotomy (blood tests)
  • Tissue Viability
  • Treatment Room
Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website